

# **COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES**

### Friday, January 21, 2022

11:00 a.m.– 3:00 p.m. Virtual Meeting

#### **COUNCIL MEMBERS PRESENT:**

Caroline Lotz, Professional Member, President Michelle Atkinson, Professional Member Loree Beniuk, Public Member Erin Betts, Public Member Maheen Cassim, Professional Member Anne-Marie Conaghan, Academic Member Jennifer Cooper, Academic Member Pella Giabanis, Public Member Carla Grbac, Professional Member Alex Greco, Public Member (1:50–2:50 p.m.) Farzana Hussain, Professional Member Meghan Leuprecht, Public Member Angelica Palantzas, Public Member Vanessa Pereira, Professional Member Terri Strawn, Professional Member Margaret Wade, Public Member Jacqueline White, Professional Member Mary Yeomans, Professional Member

#### **REGRETS:**

Ehizele Martin Iyamabo, Public Member

#### **ADMINISTRATION:**

Dr. Glenn Pettifer, Registrar and CEO Jane Keir, Deputy Registrar / Director, Professional Practice Eric Bruce, Director, Professional Conduct Veronica Douglas, Executive Administrator Melanie Warnock, Executive Administrator

#### **GUESTS**:

Rebecca Durcan, SML Richard Steinecke, SML Kyle Fraser, Manager, Registration Carolle Lepage, Practice Advice Terri-Lynn Macartney, Manager, Quality Assurance Robert Farinaccia, Case Manager, Complaints and Investigations Eva Rosenstock, Case Manager, Complaints and Investigations

# **1.0 CALL TO ORDER**

### 1.1 <u>Roll Call</u>

The President, Caroline Lotz, called the meeting to order at 11:02 a.m. and welcomed Council and guests to the January meeting.

### 1.2 **Opening Remarks**

The President, Caroline Lotz, welcomed new Council members Farzana Hussain (District 4), Mary Yeomans (District 7) and Maheen Cassim (District 8). It was acknowledged that the CDHO office is located on the traditional territory of many

nations including the Mississaugas of the Credit, the Anishnabeg, the Chippewa, the Haudenosaunee and the Wendat people and is now home to many diverse First Nations, Inuit and Métis people. It was also acknowledged that Toronto is covered by Treaty 13 with the Mississaugas of the Credit.

The Registrar, Dr. Glenn Pettifer, welcomed Council and guests to the January Council meeting.

### 1.3 <u>Conflict of Interest</u>

No conflict of interest was declared.

### 1.4 Adoption of Agenda

**MOTION: THAT** Council moves to approve the January 21, 2022 Council meeting agenda as presented.

Moved:	Carla Grbac	
Seconded:	Terri Strawn	
VOTE:		CARRIED

# 2.0 CONFLICT OF INTEREST AND CONFIDENTIALITY

Rebecca Durcan from Steinecke Maciura LeBlanc presented to Council about conflicts of interest and confidentiality within professional regulation. Topics included safeguarding the public interest, fiduciary duty, the CDHO bylaws, and consequences of breaching these agreements.

# 3.0 **REGULATION/RHPA**

Richard Steinecke from Steinecke Maciura LeBlanc presented to Council about regulation under the *Regulated Health Professions Act*. Mr. Steinecke spoke about the history of the RHPA, its legal structure, policy making, accountability, and Council's role in strategic planning and high-level oversight.

# 4.0 ELECTION OF 2022 EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

The elections were presided over by the Registrar, Dr. Glenn Pettifer, and an overview of the nominations and voting process for all eligible positions on the 2022 Executive Committee was provided.

### 2.1 Appointment of Scrutineers

As provided under Schedule II of Bylaw 5, the Registrar appointed Rebecca Durcan and Jane Keir as Scrutineers for the 2022 Executive Committee elections.

## 2.2 Nominations and Election of President

The floor was opened for the position of Council President. The term for President shall commence on January 21, 2022 and end at the first meeting in 2023 when a new election for President is held.

The following nominations were made:

Nominated:	Nominator:
Caroline Lotz	Margaret Wade
Terri Strawn	Vanessa Pereira

Caroline Lotz declined the nomination. Terri Strawn accepted the nomination.

There were no additional nominees from the floor for the President position after a second and third call by the Registrar.

Terri Strawn was acclaimed to the position of President and addressed Council.

### 2.3 <u>Nominations and Election of Vice-President</u>

The Registrar called for nominations for the position of Vice-President. The term for Vice-President shall commence on January 21, 2022 and end at the first meeting in 2023 where a new election for Vice-President is held.

The following nominations were made:

Nominated: Vanessa Pereira Nominator: Carla Grbac

Vanessa Pereira accepted the nomination. There were no additional nominees from the floor for the Vice-President position after a second and third call by the Registrar.

Vanessa Pereira was acclaimed to the position of Vice-President.

### 2.4 Nominations and Election of Three Remaining Executive Members

Third (3<sup>rd</sup>) Executive Position – Public Member

The floor was opened for nominations for the third Executive Committee position. The following nominations were made:

Nominated:	Nominator:
Erin Betts	Jacqueline White
Alex Greco	Caroline Lotz

Erin Betts declined the nomination. Alex Greco accepted the nomination.

There were no additional nominees from the floor for the third Executive position after a second and third call by the Registrar.

Alex Greco was acclaimed to the position of third Executive Committee member.

#### Fourth (4<sup>th</sup>) Executive Position – Professional Member

The floor was opened for nominations for the fourth Executive Committee position. The following nominations were made:

Nominated:	Nominator:
Michelle Atkinson	Jennifer Cooper
Anne-Marie Conaghan	Jacqueline White

Anne-Marie Conaghan declined the nomination. Michelle Atkinson accepted the nomination.

There were no additional nominees from the floor for the fourth Executive position after a second and third call by the Registrar.

Michelle Atkinson was acclaimed to the position of fourth Executive Committee member.

#### Fifth (5<sup>th</sup>) Executive Position – Public Member

The floor was opened for nominations for the fifth Executive Committee position. The following nominations were made:

Nominated:	Nominator:
Loree Beniuk	Michelle Atkinson
Pella Giabanis	Carla Grbac
Margaret Wade	Jacqueline White
Meghan Leuprecht	Jacqueline White
Angelica Palantzas	Jacqueline White

Loree Beniuk, Pella Giabanis, Meghan Leuprecht and Angelica Palantzas declined their nominations. Margaret Wade accepted the nomination and addressed Council. She advised that she would remain on Executive until her term on Council ends on June 19, 2022.

There were no additional nominees from the floor for the fifth Executive position after a second and third call by the Registrar.

Margaret Wade was acclaimed to the position of fifth Executive Committee member.

The 2021 Executive Committee was established as follows:

Member:	Position:
Terri Strawn	President
Vanessa Pereira	Vice-President
Alex Greco	Public
Michelle Atkinson	Professional
Margaret Wade	Public

### 2.5 Motion for Destruction of Ballots

The Registrar closed the election. There were no ballots to destroy.

# 5.0 COMMITTEE PRESENTATIONS

The CDHO staff presented an overview of the statutory committees to Council. A committee preference survey will be sent to Council members following the Council meeting. The Executive Committee will use the survey to establish the 2022 Committee Slate.

### 6.0 ADJOURNMENT

**MOTION: THAT** the Council meeting be adjourned at <u>2:47</u> p.m.

Moved:	Carla Grbac	
Seconded:	Meghan Leuprecht	
VOTE:		CARRIED

Approved by:

Signature of Chair, Terri Strawn

March 4, 2022

Date