

COUNCIL MEETING MINUTES

Friday, January 22, 2021

1:00 p.m. – 3:00 p.m. Virtual Meeting

COUNCIL MEMBERS PRESENT:

Catherine Ranson, Academic Member, President Caroline Lotz, Professional Member, Vice-President Michelle Atkinson, Professional Member Erin Betts, Public Member Anne-Marie Conaghan, Academic Member Jennifer Cooper, Academic Member Jenny Gibson, Professional Member Carla Grbac, Professional Member Alex Greco, Public Member Joshua Hollenberg, Public Member Ehizele Martin Iyamabo, Public Member Pauline Leroux, Professional Member Meghan Leuprecht, Public Member Vanessa Pereira, Professional Member Ilga St. Onge, Professional Member Terri Strawn, Professional Member Amit Vig, Public Member Margaret Wade, Public Member Jacqueline White, Professional Member

REGRETS:

Yvonne Winkle, Public Member

ADMINISTRATION:

Jane Keir, Acting Registrar, Deputy Registrar /
Director, Professional Practice
Suzanne Fox, Director, Corporate Services
Eric Bruce, Director, Professional Conduct
Veronica Douglas, Executive Assistant
Nadine Yacoub, Coordinator, Communications

GUESTS:

Deborah Adams, Incoming Registrar Julie Maciura, CDHO Legal Counsel

1.0 CALL TO ORDER

1.1 Roll Call

The President, Catherine Ranson, called the meeting to order at 1.01 p.m. and welcomed Council and guests to the January meeting.

1.2 Opening Remarks

The President, Catherine Ranson, welcomed new Council members Jennifer Cooper (Academic), Jacqueline White (District 2), and Carla Grbac (District 3). Ms. Ranson introduced the incoming CDHO CEO/Registrar, Deborah Adams, who will start with the CDHO on February 16, 2021.

1.3 Introduction of Incoming CDHO Registrar

Incoming CEO/Registrar, Deborah Adams, addressed Council and guests and introduced herself.

1.4 Conflict of Interest

No conflict of interest was declared.

1.5 Adoption of Agenda

Catherine Ranson added 1.6 Council Meeting Evaluation to the agenda.

MOTION: THAT Council moves to approve the January 22, 2021 Council

meeting agenda as amended.

Moved: Jenny Gibson Seconded: Carla Grbac

VOTE: CARRIED

1.6 Council Meeting Evaluation

Council reviewed the results of the December 4, 2020 Council Feedback Survey.

2.0 ELECTION OF 2021 EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

The elections were presided over by the Acting Registrar, Jane Keir, and an overview of the nominations and voting process for all eligible positions on the 2021 Executive Committee was provided.

2.1 Appointment of Scrutineers

As provided under Schedule II of Bylaw 5, the Acting Registrar appointed Suzanne Fox and Eric Bruce as Scrutineers for the 2021 Executive Committee elections.

2.2 Nominations and Election of President

The floor was opened for the position of Council President. The term for President shall commence on January 22, 2021 and end at the first meeting in 2022 when a new election for President is held.

The following nominations were made:

Nominated: Caroline Lotz Nominator: Terri Strawn

Caroline Lotz accepted the nomination. There were no further nominations for the role of President after a second and third call.

Caroline Lotz was acclaimed to the position of President and addressed Council.

2.3 Nominations and Election of Vice-President

The Acting Registrar called for nominations for the position of Vice-President. The term for Vice-President shall commence on January 22, 2021 and end at the first meeting in 2022 where a new election for Vice-President is held.

The following nominations were made:

Nominated: Pauline Leroux Nominator: Margaret Wade

Pauline Leroux accepted the nomination. There were no additional nominees from the floor for the Vice-President position after a second and third call by the Acting Registrar.

Pauline Leroux was acclaimed to the position of Vice-President and addressed Council.

2.4 Nominations and Election of Three Remaining Executive Members

Third (3rd) Executive Position – Professional Member

The floor was opened for nominations for the third Executive Committee position. The following nominations were made:

Nominated:Nominator:Terri StrawnAmit VigJenny GibsonPauline LerouxAnne-Marie ConaghanMichelle Atkinson

There were no additional nominees from the floor for the third Executive position after a second and third call by the Acting Registrar.

All candidates accepted the nominations and addressed Council.

The Acting Registrar asked the Scrutineers to send out the email ballots. Ballots were distributed, collected and counted by the Scrutineers.

Teri Strawn was elected to the third Executive Committee position.

Fourth (4th) and Fifth (5th) Executive Positions – Public Members

The floor was opened for nominations for the fourth Executive Committee position. The following nominations were made:

Nominated:

Alex Greco

Ehizele Martin Iyamabo

Margaret Wade

Joshua Hollenberg

Nominator:

Terri Strawn

Jacqueline White

Pauline Leroux

Jenny Gibson

There were no additional nominees from the floor for the fourth Executive position after a second and third call by the Acting Registrar.

All members accepted their nominations and addressed Council.

The Acting Registrar asked the Scrutineers to send out the email ballots. Ballots were distributed, collected and counted by the Scrutineers. No member received more than 50% of the vote. Margaret Wade received the least number of votes and was eliminated from the running.

The Acting Registrar asked the Scrutineers to send out email ballots for Alex Greco, Ehizele Martin Iyamabo and Joshua Hollenberg. Ballots were distributed, collected and counted by the Scrutineers. The result was a three-way tie.

The Acting Registrar asked the Scrutineers to send out a second email ballot for Alex Greco, Ehizele Martin Iyamabo and Joshua Hollenberg. Ballots were distributed, collected and counted by the Scrutineers. No member received more than 50% of the vote, but one member received more votes than the others.

Council decided that the member with the most votes would be elected to the Executive committee. Ehizele Martin Iyamabo was elected to the fourth Executive position.

The Acting Registrar asked the Scrutineers to send out email ballots for Alex Greco and Joshua Hollenberg for the fifth Executive position. Ballots were distributed, collected and counted by the Scrutineers. Joshua Hollenberg was elected to the fifth Executive position.

The 2021 Executive Committee was established as follows:

Member:Position:Caroline LotzPresidentPauline LerouxVice-PresidentTerri StrawnProfessionalEhizele Martin IyamaboPublicJoshua HollenbergPublic

2.5 <u>Motion for Destruction of Emails</u>

MOTION: THAT the 2021 Executive Committee election emails be destroyed

in accordance with Schedule II of CDHO Bylaw 5.

Moved: Terri Strawn
Seconded: Michelle Atkinson

VOTE: CARRIED

The Acting Registrar closed the election.

3.0 ADJOURNMENT

Signature of Chair, Caroline Lotz

MOTION: THAT the Council meeting be adjourned at 2:24 p.m.

Moved: Joshua Hollenberg
Seconded: Ilga St. Onge
VOTE: CARRIED

Approved by:

March 5, 2021

Date