Find a Registered Dental Hygienist



Committees support the work of Council. Committees include elected and public members of Council, and Registered Dental Hygienists who are not on Council (non-Council members).

Statutory Committees

The Regulated Health Professions Act, 1991 requires CDHO to have in place the following committees:


  • Supports and facilitates the functions of the Council and other committees.
  • Makes decisions between Council meetings.

Members: Three elected RDHs and two public appointees

Inquiries, Complaints and Reports

  • Investigates complaints, inquiries, concerns, or mandatory reports regarding the conduct and/or competence of Registered Dental Hygienists in a fair and equitable manner.
  • Makes decisions about such investigations.

Members: Four elected RDHs, four public appointees and four non-Council


  • Holds hearings about professional misconduct or incompetence of Registered Dental Hygienists who have been referred by the Inquiries, Complaints and Reports Committee.

Members: All of Council and a minimum of two non-Council

Fitness to Practise

  • Holds hearings to determine if a Registered Dental Hygienist has a physical or mental condition or disorder that adversely affects (or might) their ability to practise safely.

Members: All of Council

Patient Relations

  • Advises Council on matters related to abuse prevention.
  • Leads College public outreach programs.

Members: Two elected RDHs, three public appointees and one non-Council

Quality Assurance

  • Guides the development and implementation of the QA program.
  • Monitors participation and evaluates the program.

Members: Three elected RDHs, two public appointees and one non-Council


  • Assesses applicants’ qualifications to practise dental hygiene.
  • Determines whether applicants need further study to meet program, practice, examination and/or good character requirements.
  • Determines whether to impose any additional requirements or restrictions – called terms, conditions or limitations – on an application for registration.

Members: Three elected RDHs, two public appointees and one non-Council

Non-Statutory Committees

CDHO Council creates non-statutory or ad-hoc committees to review specific issues that are beyond the mandate of statutory committees.

Ownership Linkage

  • Establishes and maintains a three-year plan to ensure that Council has intentional and constructive dialogue and deliberation with the public, primarily around the organization’s ends.

Members: Minimum two elected RDHs and two public appointees


  • Responsible for advising Council on elements of the effective governance of the organization and function of the Council.

Members: Two elected RDHs and one public appointee